Quick Reads
Who should be in next class of Polynesian Football Hall?
January 25th, 2014

I felt very fortunate to be in attendance at the inaugural enshrinement ceremony of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame on Thursday at the Hawaii Convention Center. Thanks to my friend Nate Jones for inviting me.

What a tremendously successful and powerful event. It's so impressive that so many people could marshall their resources in just a few months to make it happen.

Kurt Gouveia, Olin Kreutz, Kevin Mawae, Ken Niumatalolo, Junior Seau, Jack Thompson and Herman Wedemeyer are all extremely worthy members of the first class.

Now, as co-emcee Vai Sikahema said Thursday, it is time to being debating next year's class. Off the top of my head, I'd go with Bob Apisa, Riki Ellison, Rockne Freitas, Al Lolotai, Al Noga, Niko Noga, Jesse Sapolu, Maa Tanuvasa, Mosi Tatupu, Mark Tuinei and Charlie Wedemeyer.

I know … that's enough for TWO classes. The selection committee has a tough job.

Please share who else you feel is deserving.


Leave a Reply